Turkish Squash

I’m not really sure what to call this dish. My mom made it all the time growing up and we just used to refer to it as “squash”, which, I realized once I was older, is a misnomer because it was always made with zucchini. But zucchini is a type of squash so let’s just go with it!

I always try to find those huge, fat zucchini in the market because they look like the ones my mom grows in her garden, but I have made them with the smaller courgettes too. This dish, as my husband says, warms the heart. I hope you enjoy it as much as my family does!

Ingredients:
2 extra large zucchini, cut in half lengthwise and then into 3 inch pieces
2 medium onions, chopped
5 garlic cloves, chopped
2 T tomato paste
1/2 c. Water (or alternatively, 1/2 c. tomato sauce instead of paste and water)
Pinch of tumeric (optional)
Salt
Pepper
Olive oil
Yogurt (optional, but I highly recommend it!)

1. In a wide bottomed pot or a deep skillet, warm enough olive oil to lightly coat the bottom of your pan. Sauté onions with tumeric until translucent, then add the garlic and sauté, careful not to burn.

20140101-104049.jpg

20140101-104059.jpg

2. Add the zucchini the pieces and lay flat in your pan. Let them lightly brown both sides. Add more oil if the pan becomes dry.

20140101-104112.jpg

3. Once the zucchini has some color on it, add the tomato paste and water (or the tomato sauce). Season with salt and pepper – be generous with the salt. Bring to a simmer, cover, and let cook on medium-low heat for 30-40 minutes or until zucchini is extra soft and almost falling apart.

20140101-104120.jpg

20140101-104127.jpg

4. Traditionally, this is served mashed up with a dollop of yogurt (to cool it down and add some sourness), and crusty bread. It looks disgusting, I know, but it’s delicious!

20140101-104146.jpg

20140101-104154.jpg

20140101-104202.jpg

Leave a Reply

